Group Members




QUEK Su Ying 郭淑瑛


Associate Professor, Department of Physics, NUS
(Courtesy appointment at Department of Materials Science)


2006: PhD Applied Physics, Harvard University
2000: BA Honours 1st class Mathematics, University of Cambridge


Previous Appointments:
2011-2013: IHPC Independent Investigator, Institute of High Performance Computing, Singapore
2006-2010: Visiting Postdoctoral Fellow, Molecular Foundry Theory Facility, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA




    XUAN Fengyuan Kanchan Ajit ULMAN CHENG Lin Quan Nicholas HE Wen    
PhD Students  

  Hillol BISWAS LAI MingRui ZHANG Jingda Shirley KWOK        


  • Narjes GORJIZADEH (Postdoc 2011-2013; now at UNSW, Australia)
  • LI Suchun (PhD 2014, cosupervised with Professor Feng Yuan Ping; now a staff scientist at Institute of High Performance Computing, Singapore)
  • KHOO Khoong Hong (Senior Research Fellow 2013-2015; now a staff scientist at Institute of High Performance Computing, Singapore)
  • Kapildeb DOLUI (Postdoc 2013-2015; now at University of Delaware, USA)
  • LUO Xin (Research Fellow, Senior Research Fellow 2011 - 2017; now an Assistant Professor in Sun Yat-Sen University, China)
  • AHM Abdul Wasey (Research Fellow 2016-2017; now an Assistant Professor (permanent position) in TDB College, Kazi Nazrul University, India)
  • ZHENG Yujie (PhD 2013-2017, cosupervised with Professor Andrew Wee; now an Assistant Professor in Chongqing University, China)
  • CHEN Yifeng (Research Fellow 2013 - 2022; now working at Hongzhiwei Technology, Shanghai)
  • Chan Su-Wen, Philemon (Final Year Project student, AY16/17)
  • Sandhya CHINTALAPATI (Research Fellow 2016 - 2018; now at Hyderabad University, India)
  • Lakshmi SHENOY (Final Year Project student, AY17/18; Research Assistant, AY18/19)
  • LUO Yao (Visiting student 2019 ; now at Nanjing University, China)
  • SIM May Inn (Undergraduate Research Opportunities (UROPS) student 2019)
  • Keian NOORI (Research Fellow 2015-2020; now a Research Fellow at the Institute for Functional Intelligent Materials, NUS)

  • QIAO Jingsi (Research Fellow 2018-2021, now a Professor at Beijing Institute of Technology)
  • XU Runrun (PhD 2020, now a physics teacher at Suzhou No. 10 High School of Jiangsu Province)
  • WANG Juefan (PhD 2020, Postdoc at Canepa group, National University of Singapore)
  • WU Yaze (PhD 2021)
  • TANG Li Yen Ryan (Undergraduate Research Opportunities (UROPS) student 2021)